The Edmonton Pops Orchestra and the Johann Strauss Foundation are calling for the entry of scores the Edmonton Composers Competition.

$500 Prize

The winning selection will be premiered at the 44th annual Johann Strauss Ball on February 9, 2019.

The Johann Strauss Ball draws over 200 patrons and donors to their annual ball to support the Johann Strauss scholarships to encourage and support young musicians from Alberta, who wish to continue and further their advanced studies of music in the cultural environment of Austria.

The entry must be a piece of ballroom dance music written for orchestral music ensemble. The work must be between 3:30 and 4 minutes in length and be in the spirit of the ball. There is no entry fee.

1x Flute, 1x Clarinet, 1x Oboe, 1x Bassoon, 1x Horn, 1x Trumpet, 1x Trombone, 1x Keyboard (Hp, Pno, Cel, Mallet Perc, Strgs), 1x Percussion (BD, Sn, Cymb, Timp, Aux), 2x Violin I, 2x Violin II, 1x Viola, 1x Cello, 1x Double Bass

Please submit a PDF of your score and an mp3 (if available) of your composition to before January 25, 2019.



Congraulations to Daniel Belland! Winner of the 2018 Edmonton Composers Competition. Daniel's piece Precipice Waltz was premiered by the Edmonton Pops Orchestra at the 43rd annual Johann Strauss Ball.

Many excellent compositions were submitted this year which made choosing just one very difficult. We looked for many characteristics in the winning piece including quality of melody and harmony, integrity and thoughtfulness of orchestration, and appropriateness of style for dance in a ballroom.

William Marsey

This year we were happy to have William Marsey as one of the judges for the competition. Mr. Marsey is a Composer based in the U.K. where his chamber and vocal music is performed regularly. He is Co-founder and Artistic Director of Listenpony, a graduate of the University of Cambridge, and is currently a Fellow at the Royal Academy of Music.


At the Theatre, in the Classroom, and in Concert.